IGNITE

If you’re aged 16 to 30 and have an idea for a project, event or campaign which benefits your community, get in touch with the IGNITE team today!

We are now a year into our ‘Reaching Communities’ programme, “IGNITE”: “Helping Young People To Lead Their Communities”. The three-year programme, which is funded by the National Lottery’s Big Lottery Fund, aims to inspire, support and motivate young people aged 16 to 30, to become leaders within their community through volunteering.

A new team is now in place for year 2 of the programme. Jenny Hodson is the Youth Leadership Manager for the whole IGNITE programme and is supported by Youth Leadership Worker Victoria Russell.  The team then had four half-time Youth Leadership Mentors who are also continuing their third year studies whilst supporting the project.  Nicole, Jean-Lous, Danielle and Ellie are our current Mentors.

The team will be going out into the community and encouraging young people from around North East Lincolnshire to get involved with the IGNITE programme as Project Leaders and volunteers. Young people involved in the programme will have the opportunity to plan and receive funding for, a project of their choosing which benefits their community. The Youth Leadership team will be working closely with volunteers’ and their host organisations, offering advice, training and support throughout.

So far the IGNITE team have supported a number of young people with a variety of projects. So far we have helped organise a vintage theme coffee morning to raise money for Macmillan Cancer Support and a five-a-side tournament to raise money for The Teenage Cancer Trust. We have also worked with a bereaved young mum who approached us with the desire to organise a commemorative balloon release to raise money for the Laurel Ward at Grimsby Diana Princess of Wales Hospital. The money raised was used to purchase memory boxes for families who have suffered a late miscarriage, stillbirth or neonatal death. We are currently supporting 16-year-old Uniformed Services student and IGNITE Project Leader with her talent competition ‘Battle of the Bands‘, as well as a young duo who are in the process of starting up their own Graffiti club for young people.

For more information about IGNITE or to get involved, please contact:
Email:
Ignite@vanel.org.uk
Call: (01472) 315 437
Visit: Facebook.com/IGNITEgy
Twitter: @IGNITEgy

Youth Leadership Manager
Jenny Hodson
Jenny@vanel.org.uk

Youth Leadership Worker
Victoria Russell
Victoria@vanel.org.uk

Youth Leadership Mentors

Nicole Kowal
nicole@vanel.org.uk

Jean-Louis Plaatjies
jean-louis@vanel.org.uk

Danielle Short
danielle@vanel.org.uk

Ellie James
ellie@vanel.org.uk